The Australian Radio Communications Industry Association (ARCIA) is made up of elected committee members who are actively engaged with the Australian Wireless Communications industry. Collectively the committee bring many years of knowledge and expertise to the Association as volunteers.

Committee and Ex-Officio Committee members are not paid, and the cost of their contribution is largely borne by their respective companies and employers. The ARCIA Committee meets monthly and each committee member is involved in Association subcommittees including;

  • Accreditation
  • Spectrum & Technical
  • Training & Education
  • Membership
  • Events
  • Website
  • Careers

Nominations for Office Bearers open four weeks prior the Annual General Meeting held in August each year. ARCIA is keen to represent all sectors of the Australian radio communications industry and encourages all members of the industry to attend. Teleconference is available for those interstate or in rural areas who are unable to physically attend.

Please contact us if you would like more information.

Executive Team

Hamish Duff


Hamish is the Managing Director of Mastercom and a founding Director of the Orion Network. A specialist in wide-area radio networks, Hamish has a genuine understanding of the pressures faced out in the field and the role that efficient communications plays to help people every day.

Hamish is passionate about transforming businesses through the application of digital mobile radio technology. With a career in communications spanning more than 30 years, Hamish is skilled in making the complex simple – engineering communication solutions to support the needs of all users – from the control room to the field.  A member of the Australian Radio Communications Industry Association (ARCIA), Hamish is highly regarded for his technical competency and in 2009 was awarded an ARCIA technical excellence award.

Glenn Sneddon


Beginning his career in the broadcast industry, Glenn has over 30 years’ experience in radio communications, from Sepac Industries through to Phillips Mobile Communications and Simoco Group. Glenn has worked in engineering design, engineering management, marketing and product management roles, although he has always kept a foot in engineering.

In his current role at Simoco as Global P25 Product Manager, Glenn plays a vital role in influencing R&D and works closely with customers to assimilate a P25 development roadmap.

Gary Botley


Gary has over 33 years’ experience in the ICT industry including technical, sales and management positions in telecommunications, information technology, radio and wireless communications companies.  He has extensive customer service, operational, sales, commercial management, channel partner management and leadership experience with time spent both in the small/medium business sector as well as in large corporate and Government organisations.

Much of Gary’s time has been spent in new business development as well as recruiting, leading, coaching and developing both large and small sales and operations teams. Currently Gary is Sales Director Australasia at Zetron providing Mission Critical Control Room Communications solutions for customers with a focus on the public safety, transport, utilities and resources industries.

Ian Miller


Ian has a long history in the radio communications industry, both with larger companies as well as recently as a part-owner of AA Radio Services in Victoria. Recognised by his peers with the Jonathon Livingstone award in 1986, Ian has continued to contribute back into the industry through the Radio Site Operators & Users Association and then in recent years as a foundation member and committee member of ARCIA. Ian is the Convenor of the ARCIA Spectrum & Technical sub-committee and is a member of the Partnership sub-committee.

Since the sale of AA Radio Services Ian operates his own independent radio communications consultancy, Orange Horizons.

Graham Rallings


Graham has been involved in the industry for over 20 years and has worked in almost all areas of the RF Industry, for national companies like Bearcom, Simoco and Hytera. He looks forward to making a beneficial contribution to the ARCIA team as the Secretary.

He currently works at Zetron as a sales specialist in a national development role helping the team implement unified communication technologies to help create more efficient control room environments. Zetron, for over 40 years, has been manufacturing mission critical communications solutions and have installed in excess of 25,000 Console positions in over 100 Countries.

Andrew Wyborn


Andrew has been working in the Telecommunications industry for the past 19 years performing roles in sales, operations, training and project management. Additionally, Andrew is a long time serving member of the Country Fire Authority (CFA) and was awarded the National Medal in 2011 for Long and Diligent Service to the CFA.

Andrew enjoys bushwalking and cycling and is married with two children. In addition to his role as Treasurer for ARCIA, he is also a member of the ARCIA Accreditation Committee.

Geoff Spring


Geoff was a member of the State of Victoria’s (Australia) public service for nearly 40 years, holding senior executive positions in the fields of project management, transportation, public safety, policy, strategy and governance. Geoff now specialises in the field of mission critical public safety communications.

Geoff is a member of the P25 Steering Committee which is responsible for the ongoing development of the P25 Standard, in conjunction with the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA), and is also a Senior Industry Advisor to the University of Melbourne – Infrastructure Engineering Department. 



  • John La Cava
  • Phil Dowd
  • John Whittaker
  • Brad Welch


  • Chris Stapleton
  • Chris Stevens
  • David Britt
  • Troy Abel


  • Mark Saloyedoff
  • Perin Hardie


  • Anthony Beresford


  • Mark Byford


  • Madeleine La Ferla


  • Spectrum & Technical – Ian Miller
  • Training & Education – Chris Stevens
  • Membership – Phil Dowd
  • Marketing – Gary Botley
  • Accreditation – Glenn Sneddon
  • Careers – Roger Webber


  • Neil Johnson
  • Noel Higgins
  • Jamie Baker
  • Rob Howes
  • Roger Webber
  • Wayne Turnbull
  • Anthony Blyth
  • Trevor Lee
  • Denis Colbourne
  • Chris McAvinue
  • David Cox
  • Kathryn Millican